Home  > English Page  > VARIOUS  > 8 December
The illuminations of December 8 at Lyon,
or the "celebrates of lights"




Introduction.

Each year, December 8 at the evening, Lyon is light up and become the "City of Light". It is one feast day for all the Lyoneses: they illuminate their windows, balconies and terraces; the tradesmen compete of imagination to decorate their windows; the districts put in scene multiple street spectacles; and the town of Lyon offers as best spectacle a large sound and light show on one of its rivers.

This tradition was born from one century and half. December 8, 1852, is the inauguration day of the statue of the Virgin Mary, set up on the hill of Fourvière. One important moment for all believing of the city, because this event had been deferred due to a rising of the Saône. It should have been held on September 8, feast day of the Virgin Nativity, and birthday date of the vow of the aldermen of 1643. However in this evening of December 8, 1852, whereas the Festival prepares and that the notable Lyons Catholics propose to illuminate the enontages of their houses like this is traditionally done for this great events, a storm falls down on Lyon and threat once more the ceremony. But fortunately the weather becomes again lenient. Then the population which had so much awaited this demonstration illuminates spontaneously its windows and goes down in the streets.

It will preserve this habit until our days. See also the history has the end of this page.

Photographs

Sight of the city from the Rhone...
Photograph

The opera on the left, the town hall on the bottom.
Photograph

Arrival on the street Edouard Herriot, after walking in enont of the town hall.
Photograph

Sound and light show in of the "Place des terreaux"...
Photograph

The street Edouart Herriot.
Photograph

The Church St-Nizier.
Photograph

Still on the street Edouart Herriot, a little further...
Photograph

The centre town.
Photograph

The statue of Louis XIV on the Bellecour place, with some projectors...
Photograph

The cathedral St Jean, in enont of the Saône...
Photograph

Law courts of Lyon.
Photograph

Perhaps the street of Brest...
Photograph

The Palate of the Stock Exchange.
Photograph




HISTORY

from 1564 to 1643, the city is devastated ten times by the plague.

March 12, 1643, the mayor and the Aldermen put the Lyons city under the protection of the Virgin Mary so that she save the interests of the city, in particular that she defends the inhabitants against the plague: they promise to carry out, December 8 of each year, a pilgrimage at Fourvière and offer the quantity of 7 pound of white wax in candles and torches for the divine service... and an ECU of gold to the sun. And this to prepared the virgin Mary to receive the city under its protection. Since then, the plague never reappeared: one speaks about "the miraculous virgin of Fourvière", and much families place her effigy on the enontage or at the angle of their house.

Between 1832 and 1835, whereas the cholera devastates enance, the municipal officials renew the public vow to the virgin, and Lyon is saved.

In 1851, one decides the construction of a new steeple, on three floors, surmounted of a new statue of the virgin Mary in gilded bronze. The inauguration is scheduled for September 8 of the following year, celebrates birth of Marie. But a rising of the Saône invades the workshops, where the metal of the statue is melt, and makes defer the ceremony to December 8, that become the celebrating of Immaculate Conception of Marie, according to the definition which will be given by it in 1854.

December 8, 1852, after the blessing of the statue by the Cardinal Of Bonald, a violent rain obliges to give the illumination of the church and the procession the next Sunday. But, at the falling night, the storm calms down. The people of Lyon spontaneously decide to celebrate the event. A multitude of candles and torches appear on the windows and the inhabitants go down in the streets, a lampion in the hand. The city is transformed soon into an immense scintillating tablecloth and, the top of her steeple, the gilded Virgin is adorn with a majestic clearness. Symbolising the triumph of the light on the darkness, as well as wanted its author, F FABISCH, professor from the Art schools in Lyon, the Virgin projects on the city, by reverberation, the rays of the raising sun. Since then, the habit of the illuminations was established in Lyon and in the neighbouring area. The inhabitants continue to go down in the streets to admire the enchantment of the light and to be delighted together.

In 1870, the archbishop of Lyon makes the vow to build, beside the old church of Fourvière, a large basilica to contain the many pilgrims, if the Virgin Mary preserves the city against the Prussian invasion: however, in spite of the order that they had received to go on the city, the invaders stop their offensive close to the city of Dijon.

In 1872, December 7, the first stone of the basilica is posed; the building will not be devoted 24 years later, in 1893. The illuminations from December 8 in Lyon, effects of this antique collective memory, renew each year this environment of profane and religious festival, the light against the night, the hope against the moroseness, that will reinforce the end of year holidays, with gift and eniendship.

Plan of town center...

http://www.media-cartes.en/Plan_ville_Lyon.htm


Photo of the 8 December at Lyon - photo illumination December 8 to Lyon.  - photo illumination at Lyon - photo palaces of the stock market to Lyon - photo palaces of justice à Lyon - photo King Louis 14 to Lyon – rue Edouard Herriot at Lyon – Town hall of Lyon - photo of the rue de Brest at Lyon - Photo of the place des Terreaux at Lyon - Photo of the church Saint-Nizier at Lyon - Photo of the place Bellecour at Lyon - Photo of the Cathedral Saint-Jean at Lyon - Photo of the centre of Lyon - Show sound and light at Lyon


To create it: June 01, 2004.
Last modification it: April 01, 2006.

Nombre de visite:

Acceuil  > Page en Français  > DIVERS  > 8 décembre
Les illuminations du 8 décembre a Lyon,
ou la " fête des lumières "




Introduction.

Chaque année, le 8 décembre au soir, Lyon se transforme en une éblouissante " ville lumière ". C'est un jour de fête pour tous les Lyonnais : ils illuminent leurs fenêtres, balcons et terrasses ; les commerçants rivalisent d'imagination pour décorer leurs vitrines ; les quartiers mettent en scène de multiples spectacles de rue; et la ville de Lyon offre en bouquet final, un grand spectacle son et lumière sur un de ses fleuves.
 
Cette tradition est née il y a près d'un siècle et demi. Le 8 décembre 1852, doit avoir lieu l'inauguration de la statue de la Vierge Marie, érigée sur la colline de Fourvière. Un moment important pour tous les croyants de la ville puisque cet événement avait été reporté à cause d'une crue de la Saône. Il aurait dû à l'origine se dérouler le 8 septembre, jour de la fête de la Nativité de la Vierge et date anniversaire du vœu des échevins de 1643. Or en ce soir du 8 décembre, alors que la Fête se prépare et que les notables catholiques lyonnais proposent d'illuminer les façades de leurs maisons comme cela se fait traditionnellement pour les grands événements, un orage s'abat sur Lyon et menace une fois de plus la cérémonie. Mais heureusement le temps redevient clément. Alors la population qui avait tant attendu cette manifestation illumine d'un geste spontané ses fenêtres et descend dans les rues. Elle conservera cette coutume jusqu'à nos jours.
 
Voir aussi l'historique a la fin de cette page.

Les Photos

Vue de la ville depuis le Rhone...
Photo

A gauche l'opéra, au fond l'hotel de ville.
Photo

Arrivée sur la rue Edouard Herriot, en passant devant l'hotel de ville.
Photo

Animation son et lumière à la Place des Terreaux...
Photo

La rue Edouart Herriot.
Photo

L'église St-Nizier.
Photo

Encore la rue Edouart Herriot, un peu plus loin...
Photo

Le centre ville.
Photo

La statue de Louis XIV a la place Bellecour, avec des projecteurs...
Photo

La cathédrale St Jean, devant, la Sâone...
Photo

Le palais de justice de Lyon.
Photo

Peut-être la rue de Brest...
Photo

Le Palais de la Bourse.
Photo




HISTORIQUE

De 1564 à 1643, à dix reprises, la ville est ravagée par la peste.

Le 12 mars 1643, le Prévost des marchands (maire) et les Echevins placent la cité lyonnaise sous la protection de la Vierge Marie afin qu'elle sauvegarde les intérêts de la ville, en particulier qu'elle défende les habitants contre la peste : ils promettent d'effectuer, le 8 décembre de chaque année, un pèlerinage à Fourvière et d'offrir la quantité de 7 livres de cire blanche en cierges et flambeaux pour le Service divin… et un écu d'or au soleil. Et ce pour disposer la vierge à recevoir la ville en sa protection. Depuis lors, la peste n'a jamais reparu : on parle désormais de " la Vierge miraculeuse de Fourvière ", et beaucoup de familles placent son effigie sur la façade ou à l'angle de leur maison.

Entre 1832 et 1835
, alors que le choléra ravage la France, les édiles renouvellent les vœux publics à la Vierge, et Lyon est épargné.

En 1851
, on décide la construction d'un nouveau clocher, à trois étages, surmonté d'une nouvelle statue de la vierge Marie, en bronze doré. L'inauguration est prévue pour le 8 septembre de l'année suivante, fête de la naissance de Marie. Mais une crue de la Saône envahit les ateliers, où l'on coule le métal de la statue, et fait reporter la cérémonie au 8 décembre, fête de l'Immaculée Conception de Marie, selon la définition qui en sera donnée en 1854.

Le 8 décembre 1852, après la bénédiction de la statue par le Cardinal de Bonald, une pluie violente oblige à remettre au dimanche suivant l'illumination de l'église et la procession. Mais, à la nuit tombante, la tempête s'apaise. Les Lyonnais décident spontanément de célébrer l'événement. Une multitude de bougies et de flambeaux apparaissent aux fenêtres et les habitants descendent dans les rues, un lampion à la main. La ville est bientôt transformée en une immense nappe scintillante et, au sommet de son clocher, la Vierge dorée est parée d'une majestueuse clarté. Symbolisant le triomphe de la lumière sur les ténèbres, ainsi que l'a voulu son auteur, F. Fabisch, professeur des Beaux-Arts à Lyon, la vierge projette sur la ville, par réverbération, les rayons du soleil levant. Depuis lors, la coutume des illuminations s'est établi à Lyon et dans la région avoisinante. Les habitants continuent de descendre dans les rues pour admirer la féerie de la lumière et pour se réjouir ensemble.

En 1870
, l'archevêque de Lyon fait le vœu d'édifier, à côté de l'ancienne église de Fourvière, une grande basilique pour contenir les nombreux pèlerins, si la vierge Marie préserve la ville de l'invasion prussienne : or, malgré l'ordre qu'ils avaient reçu de marcher sur la ville, les envahisseurs arrêtent leur offensive à la hauteur de Dijon.

En 1872, le 7 décembre, la première pierre de la basilique est posée ; l'édifice ne sera consacré que 24 ans plus tard, en 1893. Les illuminations du 8 décembre à Lyon, effets de cette antique mémoire collective, renouvellent chaque année cette ambiance de fête profane et religieuse, la lumière contre la nuit, l'espérance conte la morosité, que viendront bientôt renforcer les fêtes de fin d'année, de cadeau et d'amitié.

Plan du centre ville...

http://www.media-cartes.fr/Plan_ville_Lyon.htm


photo du 8 decembre à Lyon - photo illumination 8 décembre à Lyon. - photo illumination à lyon - photo palais de la bourse à lyon - photo palais de justice à lyon - photo statue Louis 14 à lyon - rue Edouard Herriot à lyon - Hotel de ville de lyon - photo de la rue de Brest à Lyon - Photo de la place des Terreaux à Lyon - Photo de l'église Saint-Nizier à Lyon - Photo de la place Bellecour  à Lyon - Photo de la Cathédrale Saint-Jean à Lyon - Photo du centre ville de Lyon - Animation son et lumière à Lyon


Créer le : 01 juin 2004.
Dernière modification le : april 16, 2006.

Nombre de visite: